Spooky Halloween

Posted on Updated on

Ok…I have never taken a photo of someone’s gravesite before for the purpose of novelty, and to be honest, I felt a little weird doing it (not spooked weird, just weird). Regardless of any weirdness, I was driving through Plainfield, WI yesterday and decided that Halloween was as good a time as any to stop by Ed Gein’s original gravesite for a photo. If you don’t know about Ed Gein, I am not sure you will even want to Google it – he was the inspiration for several horror movies. Some believe that they never actually moved him. His stone is gone, but if you look close you will see a small rock that someone placed between his brother and mother – I have seen others report golf balls and other items. I colorized the photo for eerie effect (ok, so I actually colorized it to take away from the eeriness). Happy Halloween, everyone!

13 thoughts on “Spooky Halloween

    Rose Colored Photo said:
    October 31, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Cemetery pictures can be a lot of fun. Here is a link to my Flickr Page where I have a set from three photo shoots in three cemeteries. http://www.flickr.com/photos/25373254@N04/sets/72157630625309326/

      Renchick responded:
      November 1, 2012 at 4:35 pm

      Wow! Those were great! Thank you for sharing.

        Rose Colored Photo said:
        November 1, 2012 at 4:43 pm

        When I do shoots in cemeteries I try and obscure complete names. The only time i have not, I knew a member of the family and I gave him a copy of all the photos that I took.
        I find it really interesting that male graves often have a profession, in this area primarily military rank. Female graves have a familial relationship. Mother, sister, daughter, etc. . .

        Renchick responded:
        November 1, 2012 at 4:46 pm

        That IS very interesting! I spent a month in Italy a few years ago and learned that when you ask someone ‘what do you do’, Americans always answer with our occupation. That same question in some other countries may get a a strange look, and the answer ‘I live life’…since then I have strived to drop my job as my identity and just emphasize my love for life when others ask

        Rose Colored Photo said:
        November 1, 2012 at 5:00 pm

        I have had a similar experience. It is a difficult thing to not determine your personal value and self worth on your career, or lack there of. I can’t say I’ve completely succeeded. But I’m working on it. I think that basing your self worth and value on your relationship or familial role isn’t healthy either.
        My goal is to leave the world a better place than I came to it.

        Renchick responded:
        November 1, 2012 at 5:13 pm

        A goal I share! And I agree – we are not our occupations, nor are we our family 🙂

        Renchick responded:
        November 1, 2012 at 4:49 pm

        Oh…the only reason I did not obscure the names in this photo is because of the notoriety of the family…they are well known and this photo has been taken by many before me. Still…it may have been an eerier photo if I had obscured the names…how do you do it?

        Rose Colored Photo said:
        November 1, 2012 at 7:47 pm

        Renchick, to answer your question about obscuring the names I went back to my old footage and picked out some of my better shots and discussed them. I did a whole blog post for you. Of course I linked back to your blog. 😉 little cross promotion there.

        Renchick responded:
        November 1, 2012 at 8:17 pm

        Great!! Thank you! On my way to read it now!

    eof737 said:
    November 5, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Neat coloring… Hope you had fun. 😉

      Renchick responded:
      November 6, 2012 at 12:57 am

      It was fun…but I was also a little anxious. I couldn’t shake the feeling that it was a little disrespectful. 🙂

    Gray Dawster said:
    September 29, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Your photograph looks brilliant in a deep purple haze,
    and yes I have seen documentaries on this fiend, incredibly
    ghoulish was he… Your Halloween idea works very well 🙂

    Have a superb rest of weekend Jess 🙂

    Andro xx

Leave a Reply

