Weekly Photo Challenge: From Lines to Patterns

Posted on

Hey! I’m still here. I have been busy with class lately, so posting (and unfortunately, taking photos) has not been a priority for me. I took this photo a couple years ago at The Hoover Dam. I loved the shadow, but it wasn’t until I got home that I saw the beauty of all the other lines and patterns – the grid pattern of the dam’s construction and the contrasting water/rust? stains, combined with the deco-style pillars, and cylindrical buildings.

Hoover small

40 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: From Lines to Patterns

    Jeff Sinon said:
    September 22, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Well you sure know how to make a re-entrance. This is one outstanding photo Jessica! You have certainly impressed the heck out of me.

      Renchick responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 11:38 pm

      Aww…that really means a lot coming from you!! Thank you so so so much!!! 🙂

        Jeff Sinon said:
        September 23, 2013 at 1:33 am

        And now that I’m looking at it on the 24 glorious inches of my iMac, as opposed to the small screen of my iPhone, it looks even better.

        Renchick responded:
        September 23, 2013 at 1:44 am

        *blushing* 🙂
        I am a bit rusty in the photo processing department, but I did like how this one turned out!

        Jeff Sinon said:
        September 23, 2013 at 1:47 am

        A bit rusty? I thought you fell off the planet. Glad to see you’re alive and well. Must have been one heck of a busy summer. Hell, I’m not sure the when last time I saw a post from you was 😀

        Renchick responded:
        September 23, 2013 at 2:00 am

        July 🙂
        I was having camera problems for a while (still am – need a new one, but need some money first 🙂 ). Now I am in school, which may mean that you will see more from me since I am trying to avoid my readings 😀

        Jeff Sinon said:
        September 23, 2013 at 2:43 am

        Sorry to hear about the camera. That is a bummer. Back in school? Finally going to get that basket weaving degree 😛

        Renchick responded:
        September 23, 2013 at 2:44 am

        LOL! MA in Communications & Leadership…much more boring than basket weaving! 🙂

        Jeff Sinon said:
        September 23, 2013 at 2:58 am

        Well that’s smart. Having a backup plan in case the basket weaving doesn’t work out is the responsible thing to do. 😉

        Renchick responded:
        September 23, 2013 at 3:00 am

        LOL! True! BTW – how did you know I weaved a basket once…just once, though – it was too detailed and took WAY too long to ever do it again! 😀

        Jeff Sinon said:
        September 23, 2013 at 3:03 am

        Spies. I have them everywhere. The NSA has nothing on me.

    icastel said:
    September 23, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Very nice! Love it 🙂

      Renchick responded:
      September 23, 2013 at 10:55 pm

      Thank you!! I must like lines and patterns because when I looked through my photo collections, I had many to choose from 🙂

    Stefano Scheda said:
    September 23, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Good shot, Jessica!

      Renchick responded:
      September 23, 2013 at 10:51 pm

      Thank you so much! It was one of my favorite trips – a road trip I took by myself 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

    Chris said:
    September 23, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Great capture. Hoover dam is an impressive sight.

      Renchick responded:
      September 23, 2013 at 10:51 pm

      Thank you!! I loved taking photos there. I have a few of the power lines and structures that support them, but I couldn’t get them to turn out during processing. Once I figure out the best possible configuration,I will post those too!

    Jonathan Caswell said:
    September 23, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    Jessica—Have nominated you again for an award…”sorry”. 🙂 Maybe your gravatar is TOO good-looking…but I like your posts!!!!!! It is the “OPPOSITES-ATTRACT” BLOG AWARD. See my blog for details (a reblog of the “catfromhell”)…plus my acceptance blog…being worked on now! 🙂

      Renchick responded:
      September 23, 2013 at 11:11 pm

      Aww, that’s so sweet! Thank you! I will check it out after I walk the dogs 🙂

    Jonathan Caswell said:
    September 23, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    THIS IS “DAM” GOOD. I LOVE HER PHOTOGRAPHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Rose Colored Photo said:
    September 24, 2013 at 3:28 am

    This is simply stunning.

      Renchick responded:
      September 24, 2013 at 3:37 am

      Thank you so much!!! I haven’t been as much of a shutterbug lately, as I have been having trouble with my camera and am back in school…but I try to post once in a while 🙂

        Rose Colored Photo said:
        September 24, 2013 at 3:59 am

        As long as you send out the occasional smoke signal that you are still alive! I do understand how busy life can get!

    Tahira said:
    September 24, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Welcome back! You were definitely missed! 😉
    Oh. And superb photo! Couldn’t get more perfect for the theme. Well done.

      Renchick responded:
      September 24, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Hi Tahira! Thank you so much! It is nice to be back…unfortunately being back means I am avoiding my thesis work… 🙂

    Naomi Baltuck said:
    September 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    This is really an amazing shot! So striking, and perfect for the theme.

      Renchick responded:
      September 27, 2013 at 2:00 am

      Thank you!!! It is nice to see you are still blogging 🙂

        Naomi Baltuck said:
        September 27, 2013 at 5:33 am

        I’m still hanging in there! Glad you are too.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker said:
    September 28, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    I love the complexity of the lines, the shapes, and really liked your use of black and white with the lighting that was available to you…well done.

      Renchick responded:
      September 28, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      Thank you so much 🙂

    Gray Dawster said:
    September 28, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    I always favour b & w photographs and this one is truly astonishing 🙂

    Andro

      Renchick responded:
      September 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm

      Wow – thank you, thank you!! 🙂 Your comments are truly appreciated!

        Gray Dawster said:
        September 28, 2013 at 10:41 pm

        I have been taking some time out so the postings will be a mixed variety, the videos are nutty by the way and the Wednesday jokes a little naughty… I do write too, so have a look at the categories on my side-bar…

        Andro

        Renchick responded:
        September 28, 2013 at 10:44 pm

        Lol – I will check it out! I liked the Wednesday jokes from 9/25. I am not easily offended 🙂

        Gray Dawster said:
        September 28, 2013 at 10:48 pm

        This is all good, and I am pleased to know that 🙂 Actually the Wednesday jokes sort of materialised during a short break I took recently and since returning I have kept it going, but soon I will be writing again, adding some horror scripts and maybe a few romantic offerings, we will see 🙂

        Andro

    frizztext said:
    September 29, 2013 at 6:18 am

    important part of your great composition: the diagonal shadow line!

      Renchick responded:
      September 29, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      Thank you so much!! 🙂

    Noeline Smith said:
    October 8, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Great photo! I love the shadow and can see why it caught your eye. I also like the slightly offset symmetry (a conflict of terms I know!) as it balances the image whilst maintaining its energy – as do the triangular patches of light. These aspects along with lovely composition and great textures make this a real winner for me!

      Renchick responded:
      October 9, 2013 at 2:13 am

      Thank you so much!! 🙂 It was one of my favorites, too!

    Naomi Baltuck said:
    November 7, 2013 at 4:14 am

    Perfect for the theme. Great shot.

Leave a Reply

